/ News / AASHTO President Names Five to Lead New Committees

AASHTO President Names Five to Lead New Committees

Parul Dubey on May 19, 2017 - in News, People

As part of the sweeping overhaul of the association’s committee structure that the AASHTO Board of Directors voted last November to adopt, President David Bernhardt has appointed five more officials from state departments of transportation to leadership positions in newly formed committees.

The board in its reorganization plan chose to form two new panels to replace what until now were the Standing Committee on Finance and Administration and its Subcommittee on Transportation Finance Policy.

The new structure instead has a Funding and Finance Committee, and an Agency Administration Committee that will also oversee the work of four new committees focused on internal agency topics – Human Resources, Knowledge Management, Internal and External Audit, and Civil Rights.

Bernhardt tapped Maryland Transportation Secretary Pete Rahn to chair the Funding and Finance Committee. The president named as its vice chair Lorie Tudor, the deputy director of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department.

For the Agency Administration Committee, Bernhardt appointed as chair Mike Patterson, executive director of the Oklahoma DOT, and named as vice chair Laura Mester, the Michigan DOT’s chief administrative officer.

The president named Lee Wilkinson to chair the new Committee on Human Resources. Wilkinson is director of the Iowa DOT’s Operations and Finance Division and earlier worked at the state’s Department of Personnel.

All of these appointments are for two-year terms that run through the end of the 2019 AASHTO Annual Meeting.

Comments are disabled