/ News / Gunalan Elected 2019 ASCE President-Elect

Gunalan Elected 2019 ASCE President-Elect

pdubey@v1-media.com on June 7, 2018 - in News, People

Kancheepuram “Guna” N. Gunalan has been elected ASCE’s 2019 President-Elect by a majority of voting Society members, following a month-long election that closed June 1.

“I’m humbled and honored by the opportunity I’ve been offered to serve the Society and the profession,” Gunalan said Tuesday, having learned of his election.

Gunalan, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE., F.ASCE, is vice president of alternative delivery at AECOM, based in Salt Lake City, UT. Previously, he was a vice president for Parsons Brinckerhoff.

His active membership in ASCE over many years includes leadership roles as Region 8 director (2009-12), Region 8 governor (2005-07), Utah Section president (2002-03), and Texas Section High Plains Branch president (1992). Most recently, he served as a governor for the Geo Institute and was a member of the steering committee for the 2017 ASCE India Conference.

He will be inducted as president-elect at the Annual Business Meeting this fall at the ASCE 2018 Convention in Denver.

Gunalan credits his family – wife, Duru, son, Kabilar, and daughter, Pallavi – with support.

“It’s been a long journey, and I’m grateful for my family,” Gunalan said. “My son and my daughter helped me a lot with the campaign. My wife has been my pillar of support – and she is my unofficial photographer.

“So many friends, so many well-wishers have called today. I can’t say enough about my ASCE family and friends. Like I always tell people, ‘One does not go places without the support of family, friends, and well-wishers.’”

Gunalan now will take that support from his family and turn it around so that he can support ASCE in his new leadership role.

“I’m proud to be a civil engineer, and I’m passionate about the profession,” Gunalan said. “My message now is: ‘What can I do to help?’”

Other 2018 Election Results

Technical Region Director-Elect

David J. Odeh, P.E., S.E., SECB, F.SEI, F.ASCE

Region Directors-Elect

Region 3: Carl C. Sutter, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 4: Robert L. Cagle, III, P.E., F.ASCE

Region 8: Tony C.G. Lau, P.E., ENV SP, F.ASCE

Region Governors-Elect

Region 1: Craig F. Ruyle, P.E., M.ASCE; and Beth Ann Smith, P.E., BCEE, M.ASCE

Region 2: Patrick J. Sullivan, Jr., P.E., M.ASCE

Region 3: Joshua D. Harken, P.E., M.ASCE; and Kenneth R. Mika, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 4: Christopher P. Corbitt, Sr., P.E., L.S.I.T., M.ASCE; and Joshua M. Johnson, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 5: Sarah L. Matin, P.E., M.ASCE; and William L. Pratt, IV, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 6: Sanford P. LaHue, Jr., P.E., M.ASCE; and Gerald K. Parker, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 7: Jennifer Jacka-Taylor, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE; and Jeffrey A. Young, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 8: Jessica Smith, A.M.ASCE; and Katherine Thompson, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 9: Jeffrey M. Cooper, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 10: April J. Lander, MEM, ENV SP, A.M.ASCE; Elias Boutros Sayah, P.E., F.ASCE; and Jairo Uribe-Escamilla, P.E., Ph.D., F.ASCE

Comments are disabled