/ News / ASCE Election Results: Briaud to Be 2020 President-Elect

ASCE Election Results: Briaud to Be 2020 President-Elect

Parul Dubey on June 10, 2019 - in News, People

Jean-Louis Briaud has been elected ASCE’s 2020 president-elect by a majority of Society members and will advance to serve as 2021 president.

Briaud, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE, has taught at Texas A&M University since 1978, most recently as a distinguished professor since 2015.

Briaud has served in a number of Society roles. The Distinguished Member recently completed a three-year term on the Board of Direction as a technical region director and has been president of the Geo-Institute (2008-09). He also led the Federation of International Geo-Engineering Societies from 2014 to 2018 as its president.

“Over the last three years, I have been a member of the ASCE Board. This experience has allowed me to learn firsthand what works well and what can be improved,” Briaud said in his nominee’s vision statement.

He will be inaugurated as president-elect at the Annual Business Meeting this fall during the ASCE 2019 Convention in Miami.

Here are the election results for other ASCE officers races, as voted on by Society members based on the ASCE Region where they live. The Technical Region Director election was open to all members.

Technical Region Director (1 position)
Brian D. McKeehan, P.E., ENV SP, F.ASCE

Region 1 Governor (2 positions)
Brad Summerville, P.E., M.ASCE
Shahin Ariaey-Nejad, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 2 Director (1 position)
Jack A. Raudenbush, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 2 Governor (2 positions)
Carrie C. Nicholson, P.E., M.ASCE
Angela M. Mayer, EIT, A.M.ASCE

Region 3 Governor (2 positions)
John C. Lazzara, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE
Craig K. Hebebrand, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 4 Governor (3 positions)
David F. Meadows, P.E., P.S., M.ASCE
Kevin Krick, P.E., LEED AP, F.ASCE
Brad L. Bobich, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 5 Governor (2 positions)
Rebecca Shelton, P.E., F.ASCE
Marta P. Alonso, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE

Region 6 Director (1 position)
Jerry B. Paz, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE

Region 6 Governor (1 position)
Daniel Diaz Salgado, A.M.ASCE

Region 7 Director (1 position)
Edward W. Stafford, P.E., PTOE, F.ASCE

Region 7 Governor (2 positions)
Erin Steever, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE
Elizabeth Staten, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 8 Governor (2 positions)
Mark G. Lamer, P.E., M.ASCE
Matthew Roblez, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 9 Governor (2 positions)
Elias Karam, P.E., M.ASCE
Rune Storesund, D.Eng., P.E., G.E., M.ASCE

Region 10 Director (1 position)
Elias Boutros Sayah, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

Comments are disabled