/ News / New Chair, Vice Chair for Highways and Transportation Commission

New Chair, Vice Chair for Highways and Transportation Commission

Parul Dubey on March 7, 2019 - in News, People

JEFFERSON CITY – Michael B. Pace, West Plains, is the new chair of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission, and Gregg C. Smith, Clinton, is the new vice chair. The commission rotated the leadership positions at its monthly meeting today in Jefferson City.

Pace and Smith were both appointed to the commission by former Gov. Jay Nixon – Pace in January 2015 and Smith in June 2013.

Pace is a retired brigadier general in the Army National Guard and also served nearly 33 years in the Missouri State Highway Patrol, achieving the rank of major. When he retired he was director of the criminal investigation bureau in Jefferson City. He previously served as commission chair from March 2017 to March 2018. Smith is president and owner of Gregg Smith Ford Lincoln, Inc., and Wilder RV.

The six-member bipartisan commission governs the Missouri Department of Transportation, the agency responsible for designing, building, operating and maintaining the state highway system and supporting other transportation modes in Missouri.

Other commission members are Tom Waters, Orrick; John Briscoe, New London; Robert G. Brinkmann, St. Albans; and Terry Ecker, Elmo.

Comments are disabled