WASHINGTON, DC—U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao today announced the appointment of seven new members to the Federal Aviation Administration’s 13-member Management Advisory Council (MAC).  The MAC advises the FAA’s senior management on policy, spending, long-range planning, and regulatory matters.

The MAC’s newest members continue to represent a cross section of public and private sector transportation and business leaders.  They include:

  • Philip Trenary, former CEO, Pinnacle Airlines
  • Brian Wynne, CEO, Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI)
  • William Ris, former Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, American Airlines
  • Donna McLean, former U.S. Department of Transportation Assistant Secretary for Budget and Programs and Chief Financial Officer
  • Jeffrey Shane, former U.S. Department of Transportation Undersecretary for Policy
  • Huntley Lawrence, Director, Aviation Department, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
  • Richard DeVos, President, Windquest Group and former CEO, Amway

“These new members bring extensive experience and over a century of combined expertise in the operation, business, and policy of aviation that will be invaluable to improving the FAA,” said Secretary Chao.  “Each individual is a widely respected leader in their field and brings an established record of achievement that will help ensure our airspace remains one of the safest and most efficient in the world.”

Today’s MAC appointees join six remaining incumbent members:  Jeffrey A. Rosen, Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation; Maj. Gen. (ret.) Rowayne Schatz, Associate Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations, U.S. Air Force; Paul Rinaldi, President, National Air Traffic Controllers Association; Steve Alterman, President, Cargo Airline Association; John E. “Jack” Potter, President, CEO, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority; and, Gwynne Shotwell, President and COO, SpaceX.

Secretary Chao thanked departing MAC members for their service:  Jane Garvey, former FAA Administrator and Meridian Infrastructure/MITRE board member; Craig Fuller, President, the Fuller Co., and former President, AOPA; William Ayer, former Chairman, Alaska Air Group; Montie Brewer, former President and CEO, Air Canada; Lee Moak, former President, ALPA; Ray Conner, Vice Chairman, Boeing Co.; and, Michael Hancock, Mayor of Denver, Colorado. 

“We are grateful for their contribution and know our aviation system is stronger because of their service,” continued Secretary Chao.

Created by the Federal Aviation Reauthorization Act of 1996, the MAC meets quarterly.  MAC members serve three-year terms in a voluntary capacity and retain their public and private sector positions. For a complete listing of new MAC members and their biographies go to www.faa.gov (PDF).