/ Awards / ARTBA Announces 2017 Division Award Winners

ARTBA Announces 2017 Division Award Winners

Parul Dubey on September 21, 2017 - in Awards, News, Transportation

(WASHINGTON) – The American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) Sept. 21 recognized transportation design and construction industry leaders with division awards. The association announced the following honorees:

Nello L. Teer, Jr.: Bob Burleson, president, Florida Transportation Builders’ Association, Tallahassee, Fla.

Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and Past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer, Jr., this award honors a member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry.

Guy Kelcey:  David Harwood, senior vice president, Terracon Consultants, Olathe, Kan.

The award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning & Design (P&D) Division’s organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D Division.

Paul F. Phelan Memorial: Jeff Sterner, president & chief operating officer, High Industries Inc., Lancaster, Pa.  

Established in 1971, this award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the ARTBA Materials and Services Division and the transportation construction industry as a whole.
John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety: John A. Barton (public sector), associate vice chancellor at Texas A&M’s RELLIS Education and Research Campus in College Station, Texas, and retired deputy director for the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT); and Tim Cox (private sector), consultant with Cox Transportation Safety/PSS, Lees Summit, Mo.
Established in 1989 in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and Past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen, this annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to highway safety.
Earlier this year, ARTBA presented Dr. Joseph L. Schofer, associate dean and professor of civil and environmental engineering at Northwestern University with the S.S. Steinberg award, created in honor of S.S. Steinberg, the founding president of the Research and Education Division. The award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.
Established in 1902, ARTBA represents the U.S. transportation design and construction industry in the Nation’s Capital. 

Comments are disabled