/ Announcement / AASHTO Calling for Nominations in Premier Transportation Communications Competition

AASHTO Calling for Nominations in Premier Transportation Communications Competition

Matt Ball on May 25, 2014 - in Announcement, Transportation

The AASHTO Subcommittee on Transportation Communications (TransComm) is accepting nominations for its annual Skills Contest, which recognizes the exceptional work of state department of transportation public relations practitioners and creates an avenue to exchange ideas. Only state DOTs are eligible to enter.

Award nominees should show excellent examples of innovation, planning, production, execution, and evaluation of results and budget. All entries should fit into at least one of the 11 categories:

  • Excel
  • Publications (print and electronic)
  • Advertising
  • Special Events
  • Video Production
  • Writing
  • Issues/Crisis Management Communication
  • Graphic Design
  • Website Technology
  • Social Media
  • Individual Awards (Founder’s Award, Public Relations Professional of the Year, and Special Recognition Award)

Each state may submit entries in a maximum of six categories (excluding the Individual Awards). Entries are judged by a panel of TransComm peers that have won in the prior year in each particular category or, if there are none, AASHTO communications staff. All entries must have appeared, aired, been published, majorly revised, or involve an event held between June 1, 2013, and May 31, 2014. Nothing before or after those dates will be eligible. Winners will be announced during an awards banquet on Sept. 30 during the 2014 TransComm annual meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Nominations are due online by 5 p.m. MST on Wednesday, July 2.

Additional information on the 2014 Skills Contest is available here. Questions may be directed to Kim Noetzel, awards committee member, at KNoetzel AT azdot.gov.

Comments are disabled