/ Awards / Structural Engineers of Illinois Special Award Winners

Structural Engineers of Illinois Special Award Winners

Parul Dubey on April 28, 2023 - in Awards, Events, News

Chicago, IL: The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 SEAOI Special Awards, which will be presented at the 2023 Awards Celebration, held on June 1, 2023 at The River Room – Burning Bush Brewery in Chicago. This annual event honors several individuals for their contributions to, and efforts on behalf of, the structural engineering community.

John F. Parmer Award recipient – Nabi R. Fakroddin, PE, SE, F.ASCE
The John F. Parmer Award is presented to a structural engineer in recognition of outstanding lifelong contributions in the field of structural engineering. The candidate must be an individual whose distinguished career is acknowledged by his or her peers to be an example of excellence.

SEAOI Service Award recipient – Christine Freisinger, SE; Associate Principal, Wiss, Janney, Elstner,
Associates, Inc.
The SEAOI Service Award is given by SEAOI to a distinguished individual, whose involvement and career services in design, construction, education, or business related to structural engineering, has made a significant contribution to the advancement and the recognition of the role of structural engineers.

Outstanding Young Engineers Award recipients –
Maen Farhat, PhD, PE, SE; Chief Structural Engineer, Accurate Group, Inc.
Eric Guenther, SE; Principal, Interstice and Project Manager, Forefront Structural Engineers
David Nauheimer, SE, PE; Senior Structural Associate II, Sargent & Lundy

The SEAOI Outstanding Young Engineers Award honors Young Engineers (aged 35 or younger) who are recognized by his or her peers for outstanding achievements in structural engineering.

SEAOI Excellence in Engagement Award recipients –
Yasmin Chaudhry, PE; Staff Engineer – Steel Solutions Center, American Institute of Steel Construction
Kristi Sattler, SE, PE, PhD, University Education Manager, American Institute of Steel Construction
The SEAOI Excellence in Engagement Award was established in 2019 to recognize individuals striving to
improve engagement of current and/or future structural engineers. SEAOI is committed to improving
engagement among our members and within the structural engineering community, and we wish to formally
recognize others also committed to this pursuit.

SEAOI Instructor Legacy Award recipient – Tony Shkurti, Ph.D., SE, PE; HNTB Fellow, Vice President and

Director, Bridges and Tunnels Great Lakes Division, HNTB

Tony is the first recipient of the SEAOI Instructor Legacy Award, which was established to recognize outstanding contributions to the industry and SEAOI from an instructor.

For more information about the Structural Engineers Association of Illinois Special Awards, please visit www.SEAOI.org.

The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) was founded in 1965 by practicing structural engineers to advance and advocate excellence in structural engineering and to aid in safeguarding the lives and property of the public. SEAOI’s Mission is to champion excellence for its members in the practice of Structural Engineering. SEAOI contributes to the expansion of the art and science of structural engineering by offering education, outreach and networking opportunities to members and the public living and working in Illinois.

Comments are disabled