/ Awards / Structural Engineers of Illinois Special Award Winners

Structural Engineers of Illinois Special Award Winners

Parul Dubey on June 20, 2022 - in Awards, Events, News

hicago, IL: Winners of the Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) 2022 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards were announced at the 2022 Awards Celebration, held on June 16, 2022 at OnTour Brewing in Chicago, IL. This design competition takes place each year to recognize excellence in, and celebrate structural engineering.

Awards were presented as follows:

  • Jurors’ Favorite/Most Innovative: Cantilevered Work Platform at 730 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY, by Gilsanz Murray Steficek LLP
  • Best Project – Over $150 Million: Rainier Square by Magnusson Klemencic Associates
  • Best Project — $50 Million to $150 Million: 800 Fulton Market by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
  • Best Project — $10 Million to $50 Million: I-40 Hernando de Soto Bridge by Michael Baker International
  • Best Project – up to $10 Million: Downers Grove North HS Commons Roof by Wight & Company
  • Best Bridge/Transportation Project: Midway International Checkpoint Expansion, by Jacobs Engineering Group
  • Best Renovation/Retrofit Project: Tribune Tower Complex Redevelopment by TGRWA
  • Best Special Structure: SPLAM Timber Pavilion by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
  • Lavicka Award: Shade Garden Structures, by Forefront Structural Engineers

Awards of Merit:

  • Fort Industry Square, by GEI Consultants
  • OSF HealthCare Ministry Headquarters Renovation by Thornton Tomasetti
  • I-74 over the Mississippi River, by Alfred Benesch & Company
  • Montrose Avenue over FAI 90/94 Bridge Rehabilitation by Ciorba Group
  • Lakefront Trail #3 – Lakeshore Drive Bascule over the Chicago River, by WSP and TYLin
  • Fulton East, by BASE
  • UIUC Siebel Center for Design, by Silman
  • 300 North Michigan Avenue by WSP USA
  • Steppenwolf Theatre Expansion by Thornton Tomasetti
  • The Arkansas Museum of Fine Arts by Thornton Tomasetti
  • The Ayer by Cary Kopczynski & Company
  • Wave One by BASE

The 2022 Panel of Judges:

  • Academia – Souhail Elhouar, PhD, PE; Professor and Chairman, Department of Civil Engineering and Construction, Bradley University
  • Architecture – Drew Deering, AIA, LEED AP, President, AIA Chicago/Associate Principal Moody Nolan
  • Construction/Development — Christopher Brooks, AIA, NOMA, Senior Project Manager,  PROJECT MANAGEMENT ADVISORS, INC. 
  • Government – Grant Ullrich, Managing Deputy Commissioner, City of Chicago Department of Buildings
  • Media – Angie McMonigal, Owner, Angie McMonigal Photography LLC
  • Structural Engineering – Stephanie Slocum, Founder, Engineers Rising

For more information about the Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards, please visit www.SEAOI.org.


The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) was founded in 1965 by practicing structural engineers to advance and advocate excellence in structural engineering and to aid in safeguarding the lives and property of the public.  SEAOI’s Mission is to champion excellence for its members in the practice of Structural Engineering. SEAOI contributes to the expansion of the art and science of structural engineering by offering education, outreach and networking opportunities to members and the public living and working in Illinois.

Comments are disabled