/ Awards / GWI Announces Winners of the 2022 Global Water Awards

GWI Announces Winners of the 2022 Global Water Awards

Parul Dubey on May 27, 2022 - in Awards, News

Global Water Intelligence (GWI) announced the winners of the 2022 Global Water Awards, which were presented on Tuesday 17 May at the La Quinta de Jarama in Madrid, Spain as part of the Global Water Summit 2022. The coveted awards ceremony recognises the industry’s greatest achievements over the previous year, rewarding the initiatives and companies in the water, wastewater and desalination sectors that are moving the industry forward through improved operating performance, innovative technology adoption and sustainable financial models.

The master of ceremony, Claire McCollum, reflected on the development of the water sector in 2022 during her opening address: “After two years apart we are thrilled to be reunited with you all for the Global Water Summit. Tonight, we recognise the pioneers and innovators who have been pushing the industry to greater heights in the last year. This year’s shortlist represents outstanding quality, and to be part of this selection is an exceptional achievement.”

Global Water Intelligence is proud to announce that the winners of the 2022 Global Water Awards are:

Water Company of the Year
Winner: Manila Water
Distinction: Aqualia
Highly Commended: Metito, Saur

Desalination Company of the Year
Winner: IDE Technologies
Distinction: Acciona
Highly Commended: ACWA Power, Doosan Heavy Industries

Water Technology Company of the Year
Winner: Schneider Electric
Distinction: Gradiant Corporation
Highly Commended: De Nora Water Technologies, Tomorrow Water

Public Water Agency of the Year
Winner: Ministry of Environment, Water and Agriculture, Saudi Arabia
Distinction: SA Water, Australia
Highly Commended: Mekorot, World Bank Global Water Practice

Breakthrough Technology Company of the Year
Winner: Synauta
Distinction: Rotec
Highly Commended: Sentry, Transcend Water

Desalination Plant of the Year
Winner: Atacama Desalination Plant, Chile
Distinction: Rabigh 3 IWP, Saudi Arabia
Highly Commended: Palm Jumeirah rehabilitation, Dubai, West Morgan PFAS Project

Water Project of the Year
Winner: Zhangjiagang No.4 WTP, China
Distinction: Dominguez Channel, USA
Highly Commended: Cutter Lateral Reach 21 WTP, USA & Khurais Increment Project, Saudi Arabia

Wastewater Project of the Year
Winner: Recolab, Sweden
Joint Distinction: Bahr el-Baqar WWTP, Egypt & Rialto bioenergy facility, USA
Highly Commended: Bailonggang sludge treatment plant, China

Industrial Project of the Year
Winner: Carlsberg Brewery WRP, Denmark
Distinction: Waverly Landfill leachate, USA
Highly Commended: Lower Fars Sulaibiya Recycling Project, Kuwait & Yulin coal-to-chemicals MLD, China

Smart Water Project of the Year
Winner: DC Water event management system, USA
Distinction: Evides pumping optimisation, Netherlands
Highly Commended: Yantai Taoziwan WWTP, China & Yorkshire Water sewer blockage predictor, UK

Water Leaders Award
Winner: Beijing Drainage Group, China
Distinction: Water Corporation of Odisha, India
Highly Commended: Lusaka Water Supply and Sanitation Company, Zambia & Sedapar, Peru

Net Zero Carbon Champion
Winner: Xylem
Distinction: Jacobs Engineering
Highly Commended: Acciona & Aqualia

Water Technology Idol
Winner: Amorphic Tech Ltd.
Distinction: Aqualia
Highly Commended: Clean Teq Water, Evcon, NALA Membranes

Trophies were also presented to new members of the Leading Utilities of the World network. Membership in this network is a recognition that a utility is among the best in the world, based on relative improvement as much as absolute achievement. The three new members were accepted into the network in a meeting held at The Global Water Summit on 17th May where each presented their achievements to the network’s advisory board – all of whom also represent utilities that have an unimpeachable record of innovation and performance. The Leading Utilities of the World Network is supported by Jacobs, the network’s Foundation Partner.

New Leading Utilities of the World members:
– Central Arkansas Water, USA – accepted by Tad Bohannan, CEO
– Mekorot, Isreal – accepted by Amit Lang, CEO
– Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, USA – accepted by Gloria Gray, Chairman of the Board

The Global Water Awards are voted for by subscribers to GWI magazine, GWI WaterData, and the Water Desalination Report. In addition, delegates who registered for the Early Bird Discount were also eligible to vote.

Global Water Intelligence also extended its thanks to Dupont for their continued support of the ceremony as The Official Global Water Awards Sponsor. The table sponsors include: MEWA, NWC, Veolia, Mekorot, and DeNora.

More information on the Global Water Awards can be found at: www.globalwaterawards.com

More information on the Leading Utilities of the World can be found at leadingutilities.org

Photos of the award winners can be downloaded here.

Follow developments on Twitter @watermeetsmoney #GWS2022

Comments are disabled