/ News / The ACI Foundation’s 2022-2023 Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients

The ACI Foundation’s 2022-2023 Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients

Parul Dubey on April 15, 2022 - in News, People

The ACI Foundation is pleased to announce its 2022-2023 fellowship and scholarship recipients. The ACI Foundation is a non-profit subsidiary of ACI that promotes progress, innovation, and collaboration in the concrete industry through strategic investments in ideas, research, and people to create the future of the concrete industry. 

All Fellowship recipients receive a $10,000 (USD) educational stipend (Falconer fellowship receives $15K); paid travel expenses and attendance fees to two ACI conventions; and assistance in finding an industry mentor. All Scholarship recipients receive a $5,000 (USD) educational stipend.

Since the inception of the Foundation’s Fellowship program in 2008, the ACI Foundation has provided financial support, mentorship, and internship opportunities to over 250 students.

This year the ACI Foundation was able to award 16 fellowships and nine scholarships to students from 23 different institutions.

2022-2023 Fellowship Recipients

ACI Foundation Concrete Materials Fellowship:
Jesús Castro Pérez, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign

ACI Foundation Concrete Practitioner Fellowship:
Abigail Kienzle, Clarkson University
ACI Foundation Future Concrete Industry Leader:
Ariel Majano, New Jersey Institute of Technology

ACI Foundation Middle East & North Africa Fellowship:
Nouran Elmesalami, New York University, Abu Dhabi
ACI Presidents’ Fellowship:
Nafiseh Kiani, University of Miami

Baker Student Fellowship:

Jordan Duck, Kennesaw State University

Barbara S. and W. Calvin McCall Carolinas Fellowship:
Lily Polster, University of Notre Dame

 Burg-Coleman Iowa State ‘77 ACI Fellowship:

Caleb Stevenson, Iowa State University
Charles Pankow Foundation Student Fellowship:
Brenda Amada Cardona Cepeda, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign
Daniel W. Falconer Memorial Fellowship:
Ziad Elaghoury, University of Western Ontario
Don Marks Memorial Fellowship:
Luke Somerville, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign

Nicolas F. Maloof Jr. GA Chapter Fellowship

Chelsea Bidgood, Colorado State University        
Richard D. Stehly Memorial Fellowship: 
Adam Johnson, University of St. Thomas

Robert F. Mast Memorial Fellowship:

Hunter Hutton, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

S.P. Shah Fellowship:

Luca Montanari, University of Texas, Austin

Tribute to the Founders Fellowship:
Ferdinand Niyonyungu, University of Kansas
2022-2023 Scholarship Recipients

ACI Foundation Scholarship:
Gabriel Johnson, University of Arkansas
ACI Foundation Scholarship:
Mahesh Acharya, Idaho State University
Bertold E. Weinberg Scholarship:
Nuzhat Kabir, Texas A&M
Katharine & Bryant Mather Scholarship:
Marwa Ibrahim, University of Calgary

Master Builders Solutions Concrete Materials Scholarship:

Rubaiya Rumman, University of British Columbia

Nick Bada – ACI Ontario Chapter Graduate Scholarship:

Brandon Boles, University of Toronto

Schwing America Scholarship:

Andrew LeBoeuf, University of Virginia

Stewart C. Watson Memorial Scholarship:

Adel Al Ekkawi, University of Calgary

  1. Gene Corley Scholarship:

Cristian Rodrigo Tolava Torrico, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

The online application process for the ACI Foundation’s 2023-2024 Fellowships and Scholarships will open on July 1, 2022, and close on November 1, 2022.


ACI Foundation Fellowship and Scholarship awards are made possible through generous contributions by donors from the concrete community. Together, the Foundation and its supporters are strengthening the concrete industry by supporting students entering a professional career in the field of concrete. The ACI Foundation is leading the way to ensure a sustainable, successful future of the concrete industry by intentional and focused investments in ideas, research, and people. Additional information about each fellowship and scholarship is available at acifoundation.org.


Comments are disabled