/ Awards / Individuals in Engineering and Technology Recognized for STEM Achievements & Community Contributions

Individuals in Engineering and Technology Recognized for STEM Achievements & Community Contributions

Parul Dubey on September 7, 2021 - in Awards, News, People

CHICAGO (Sept. 3, 2021) – The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) announced today the recipients of its annual awards program, a nod to those movers and shakers who are making significant contributions to the STEM community and the advancement of women in engineering. SWE award recipients include professionals and collegiates from influential businesses, corporations and universities across the globe.

“The men and women recognized this year have lived and learned through significant contributions to the engineering community, and they continue to lead in their careers and personal lives,” said Rachel Morford, from The Aerospace Corporation in El Segundo, Calif., and FY22 president of SWE. “They are leaders paving the way to empower and inspire future women engineers across the globe.”

This year’s award recipients will be recognized at WE21, the world’s largest conference and career fair for women engineers and technologists on October. 21-23, 2021 in Indianapolis, IN, in the WE21 Awards Hall. The conference will gather more than 14,000 professional and collegiate individuals in engineering and technology for professional development, education and networking.

To see a complete list of 2021 SWE Individual Award Recipients, please click here: SWE Announces the Recipients Of Its Annual Awards Program – All Together

 The following are among the top award recipients:

 Achievement Award – The highest award given by the Society of Women Engineers. It is presented annually to an individual who has made significant and progressive technical contributions.

  • Qian Lin, Ph.D., HP Inc.

 Suzanne Jenniches Upward Mobility Award– Celebrating an individual’s rise to success and contribution to the decision-making process within their organization.

  • Cindy Hoover, F.SWE, Spirit AeroSystems Inc.

Diversity & Inclusion Program Award – recognizes an individual or company who has pioneered a diversity & inclusion program within their organization.

  • Medtronic

 Resnik Challenger Medal Award –  Awarded only as merited for visionary contributions to space programs, honoring SWE’s Dr. Judith A. Resnik. This award acknowledges a specific engineering breakthrough or achievement that has expanded the horizons of human activities in space

  • Mary Kathleen Johnson, Lockheed Martin

 Rodney D. Chipp Memorial Award – Celebrates the work of a man or company who has made a significant contribution to the acceptance and advancement of women in engineering.

  • Gary Johansen, Cummins Inc.
  • James H. Borowick, Medtronic
  • Richard Ambrose, Lockheed Martin

For more information about the Society of Women Engineers, visit www.swe.org. For more information about WE21, visit we21.swe.org

About SWE

The Society of Women Engineers (SWE), founded in 1950, is the world’s largest advocate and catalyst for change for women in engineering and technology. The not-for-profit educational and service organization is the driving force that establishes engineering as a highly desirable career aspiration for women. To ensure SWE members reach their full potential as engineers and leaders, the Society offers unique opportunities to network, provides professional development, shapes public policy and provides recognition for the life-changing contributions and achievements of women engineers. As a champion of diversity, SWE empowers women to succeed and advance in their personal and professional lives. For more information about the Society, please visit www.swe.org or call 312.596.5223.

Comments are disabled