/ Awards / NSBA Seeks America’s Best Steel Bridges for 2022 Prize Bridge Awards

NSBA Seeks America’s Best Steel Bridges for 2022 Prize Bridge Awards

Parul Dubey on June 1, 2021 - in Awards, Events, News

CHICAGO – The National Steel Bridge Alliance and the American Institute of Steel Construction have opened the 2022 Prize Bridge Awards for entries.

We’re looking for outstanding bridges that showcase the innovative use of structural steel. The entry deadline is Sept. 8, 2021, and there is no fee to enter the competition.

“America has a proud history of steel bridges connecting communities for decades or even centuries, and new landmarks open around the country all the time,” said NSBA Director of Market Development Brandon Chavel, PE, PhD. “NSBA is committed to showcasing the best bridge engineering and construction our industry has to offer, and I’m excited to see which bridges win this year’s Prize Bridge Awards!”

Our panel of judges will consider entries in several categories defined by bridge size and function, weighing each project’s innovation, economics, aesthetics, design, and engineering solutions–and this year, we’re introducing an exciting new award!

New for 2022: Bridge of the Year Award

The Bridge of the Year Award will recognize the single most significant bridge built in America recently. The judges will select three finalists from all bridges entered in the competition. The teams behind those three projects will have the opportunity to present their projects to the industry during the first session of the World Steel Bridge Symposium in Denver (March 23-25). The judges will then confer, and we’ll announce the winner of the inaugural Bridge of the Year Award at the end of the conference!

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible bridges must be:

  • Built of structural steel produced and fabricated in the United States
  • Located in the U.S., defined as the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and all U.S. territories
  • Completed and opened to traffic between Jan. 1, 2019, and Sept. 8, 2021.

Any team member from an eligible bridge project may submit it for award consideration.

History of the Prize Bridge Awards

In 1928, the American Institute of Steel Construction awarded its first Prize Bridge Award to the Sixth Street Bridge in Pittsburgh, which would later be renamed to honor the legendary Pittsburgh Pirates right fielder Roberto Clemente.

Since then, AISC and the National Steel Bridge Alliance have recognized more than 600 outstanding steel bridges across the country.

About the American Institute of Steel Construction
The American Institute of Steel Construction, headquartered in Chicago, is a non-partisan, not-for-profit technical institute and trade association established in 1921 to serve the structural steel design community and construction industry. AISC’s mission is to make structural steel the material of choice by being the leader in structural steel-related technical and market-building activities, including specification and code development, research, education, technical assistance, quality certification, standardization, market development, and advocacy. AISC has a long tradition of service to the steel construction industry of providing timely and reliable information.



Comments are disabled