/ News / Truax Elected 2021 ASCE President-Elect

Truax Elected 2021 ASCE President-Elect

Parul Dubey on June 5, 2020 - in News, People

Dennis D. Truax has been elected ASCE’s 2021 president-elect by a majority of Society members.

Truax, Ph.D., P.E., DEE, D.WRE, F.NSPE, F.ASCE, has spent four decades on the civil engineering faculty at Mississippi State University. Since 2006, he’s served as the James T. White Endowed Chair and Department Head.

He has also worked as a consulting engineer or managing principal of several firms. In addition, he has served as adviser and regulatory consultant with various governmental agencies.

“I’m pleased that the members of ASCE feel that I merit their trust,” Truax said. “Everything I am is a result of being a civil engineer. This profession has afforded me great opportunities, and in the same breath, I cannot disconnect ASCE from the profession or my successes.


“Having an opportunity like this, to continue what I’ve been calling my servant-leadership at ASCE, it’s humbling and very exciting.”

Truax’s lengthy ASCE career includes service as District 14 Director from 2001 to 2004, two terms as the Society’s treasurer and tenures on many Society-level committees and working groups. This includes his current role as chair of the Committee on Technical Advancement and member of the Committee on Licensure. At Mississippi State, Truax was ASCE Student Chapter faculty adviser for 26 years. He has served in multiple roles for the Mississippi Section, including president (1991-92).

Constitutional amendments pass

As part of the 2020 ASCE election, the membership also approved, by the required two-thirds vote, proposed constitutional amendments intended to improve the organization’s flexibility, nimbleness and responsiveness, as well as giving voting equity to dues-paying Affiliate members.

“One of my goals as president is to help modernize and streamline the organizational structure of the Society, making it inclusive and more nimble,” said ASCE President K.N. Gunalan. “And these constitutional amendments will do just that.”

Truax will join Gunalan and 2021 ASCE President Jean-Louis Briaud as ASCE’s presidential triumvirate when he is inaugurated as president-elect at the Annual Business Meeting this fall during the ASCE 2020 Convention. He will succeed to 2022 president the following year.

“There’s a lot of work to be done to ensure that our Society addresses the needs of our members, our communities and our profession,” Truax said. “It’s exciting for me to be a part of that. New opportunities, new challenges, new ways of doing things.

“I think we can take it to the next level.”

The following is the complete 2020 election results, as voted on by Society members based on the ASCE Region where they live. The Technical Region Director election was open to all members who are members of an Institute.

2020 ASCE election results


Dennis D. Truax, Ph.D., P.E., DEE, D.WRE, F.NSPE, F.ASCE

Technical Region Director     

Kevin D. Nielsen, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

Region 1 Director

John C. Folts, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 1 Governor

Danielle H. Spicer, P.E., LEED AP, ENV SP, M.ASCE

Region 2 Governor

Joseph Platt Jr., P.E., M.ASCE

Region 3 Governors

Craig W. Bursch, P.E., F.ASCE

Therese R. Kline, P.E., F.ASCE

Region 4 Governors

Christina L. Ammens, P.E., M.ASCE

John F. Garner, P.E., M.ASCE

Brian Reynolds, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 5 Director

William L. Pratt IV, P.E., LEED AP, M.ASCE

Region 5 Governors

Rudolph A. Simoneaux III, P.E., M.ASCE

Jennifer Sloan Ziegler, Ph.D., P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE

Region 6 Governors

Tim C. Newton, P.E., M.ASCE

Kensey W. Russell, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 7 Governors

Shawnna Erter, P.E., D.GE, F.ASCE

Steven G. Hakes, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 8 Governors

Tor J. S. Anderzen, P.E., F.ASCE

Fausto B. Burruel Sr., P.E., M.ASCE

Region 9 Director

Kenneth H. Rosenfield, P.E., ENV SP, F.ASCE

Region 9 Governor

Tapas Dutta, P.E., ENV SP, QSD, F.ASCE

Region 10 Governors

Panagiotis Andreas Chatzipanos, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE

Raymond Hai Ming Leung, Ph.D., C.Eng, P.E., F.ASCE

The membership also approved by 75.4% the proposed Constitutional amendments. Amendments to the Constitution require the affirmative vote of two-thirds of those members voting.

Comments are disabled