/ Awards / Structural Engineers of Illinois Special Award Winners

Structural Engineers of Illinois Special Award Winners

Parul Dubey on May 22, 2019 - in Awards, News

Chicago, IL:  The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 SEAOI Special Awards, which will be given at the Annual Awards Banquet, held on June 22, 2019 at Ignite Glass Studio in Chicago, IL. This annual event honors several individuals for their contributions to, and efforts on behalf of, the structural engineering.


John F. Parmer Award recipient – Donald F. Meinheit, SE, PE Retired Principal of Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates


The John F. Parmer Award is presented to a structural engineer in recognition of outstanding lifelong contributions in the field of structural engineering. This award is presented jointly by SEAOI and the Structural Engineers Foundation. The candidate must be an individual whose distinguished career is acknowledged by his or her peers to be an example of excellence.


SEAOI Service Award recipient – David A. Fanella, PhD, SE  Senior Director of Engineering at the Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute


The SEAOI Service Award is given by SEAOI to a distinguished individual, whose involvement and career services in design, construction, education, or business related to structural engineering, has made a significant contribution to the advancement and the recognition of the role of structural engineers.


Outstanding Young Engineer Award recipient – Michelle Ryland, SE, RA Associate IV, Structural Department at Klein & Hoffman


In 2008, SEAOI introduced an Outstanding Young Engineer Award to honor a Young Engineer (aged 35 or younger) who is recognized by his or her peers for outstanding achievements in structural engineering.


SEAOI Excellence in Engagement Award recipient – Jamal Grainawi, SE, PE Vice President; Sr. Project Manager; Sr. Technical Principal and Manager of Movable Bridges at WSP


The SEAOI Excellence in Engagement Award was established in 2019 to recognize individuals striving to improve engagement of current and/or future structural engineers.  SEAOI is committed to improving engagement among our members and within the structural engineering community, and we wish to formally recognize others also committed to this pursuit.  


For more information about the Structural Engineers Association of Illinois Special Awards, please visit www.SEAOI.org.


The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) was founded in 1965 by practicing structural engineers to advance and advocate excellence in structural engineering and to aid in safeguarding the lives and property of the public.  SEAOI’s Mission is to champion excellence for its members in the practice of Structural Engineering. SEAOI contributes to the expansion of the art and science of structural engineering by offering education, outreach and networking opportunities to members and the public living and working in Illinois.


Comments are disabled