/ Awards / ARTBA Announces 2018 Division Award Winners

ARTBA Announces 2018 Division Award Winners

pdubey@v1-media.com on October 4, 2018 - in Awards, Featured, News

WASHINGTON – The American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) Oct. 1 recognized transportation design and construction industry leaders with division awards at the association’s National Convention in New York City. The association announced the following honorees:
Nello L. Teer, Jr.: John McCaskie, chief engineer (retired), Swank Construction Company, LLC, New Kensington, Pa.  
Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and Past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer, Jr., this award honors a member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry.
Guy Kelcey:  Doug LaVoie, senior vice president, CDM Smith, Lansing, Mich.
The award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning & Design (P&D) Division’s organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D Division.
Paul F. Phelan Memorial: Jim Fehsenfeld, CEO, Heritage Construction & Materials, Indianapolis, Ind.
Established in 1971, this award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the ARTBA Materials & Services Division and the transportation construction industry as a whole.
Earlier this year, ARTBA presented Dr. Ram M. Pendyala, professor of transportation systems in the civil, environmental, and sustainable engineering program at Arizona State University in Tempe with the S.S. Steinberg award, created in honor of S.S. Steinberg, the founding president of the Research and Education Division. The award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.
Gene Hawkins, professor in the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering at Texas A&M University, and retired ORAFOL Americas leader Tom Flaherty were presented in July 2018 with the respective public and private sector John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety Awards. Established in 1989 in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and Past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen, the awards recognize outstanding contributions to highway safety.
Established in 1902, ARTBA represents the U.S. transportation design and construction industry in the Nation’s Capital.

Comments are disabled