/ Awards / Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards 2018 Winners Announced

Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards 2018 Winners Announced

Parul Dubey on June 13, 2018 - in Awards, Featured

Chicago, IL: Winners of the Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) 2018 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards were announced at the sold out 2018 Awards Banquet, held on June 9, 2018 at the Museum of Broadcast Communication in Chicago, IL. This design competition takes place each year to recognize excellence in structural engineering, and the 2018 Awards offered two new categories: Best Neighboring State Project and Best Industrial/Utility Project.


Awards were presented as follows:


JUROR’S FAVORITE: Salesforce Tower – Magnusson, Klemencic Associates

OVER $150 MILLION: Ryan/Walter Athletic Facility, Northwestern University – WSP

$50 MILLION – $150 MILLION: I-55 & Lake Shore Drive Interchange – AECOM

$10 MILLION – $50 MILLION: The Yard at Shakespeare Theater – Thornton Tomasetti

UP TO $10 MILLION: Chicago’s Shakespeare Theater Movable Towers — Klein & Hoffman

BEST INDUSTRIAL/UTILITY PROJECT: Short Baseline Neutrino (SBN) Near & Far Detector Buildings — Holabird & Root

BEST BRIDGE/TRANSPORTATION: St. Anthony Parkway Bridge – Parsons

BEST RENOVATION/RETROFIT: Paragon Theater Conversion – Forefront Structural Engineers

BEST NEIGHBORING STATE PROJECT: Wiikiaami — Pierce Engineering

LAVICKA AWARD: S.K.Y. Restaurant — The Structural Group


Awards of Merit:

  • Wilson CTA Station — HNTB
  • Washington Wabash Elevated Train Station – EXP
  • 403 N Wabash — James McHugh
  • Wolf Point East Tower — The Walsh Group/GZA
  • Manulife Place +15 Pedestrian Bridge – SOM
  • New Trier High School Addition — Wight & Co.
  • CTF Tianjin — SOM
  • Kellogg Global Hub, Northwestern University — Thornton Tomasetti


The 2018 Panel of Judges:

Academia — Franklin T Lombardo, PhD; Assistant Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Architecture — Catherine Baker; AIA Chicago, 2018 President

Construction/Development — Michael J. Sturino, Esq., AICP; President & CEO, Illinois Road and Transportation Builders Association

Government — Grant Ullrich, Assoc. AIA; Deputy Commissioner, City of Chicago Department of Buildings

Media — Jeff Yoders; Midwest Editor and Associate Technology Editor, Engineering News-Record

Structural Engineering — David Bibbs, SE, PE; Senior Vice President, CannonDesign


For more information about the Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards, please visit www.SEAOI.org.


The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) was founded in 1965 by practicing structural engineers to advance and advocate excellence in structural engineering and to aid in safeguarding the lives and property of the public. SEAOI’s Mission is to champion excellence for its members in the practice of Structural Engineering. SEAOI contributes to the expansion of the art and science of structural engineering by offering education, outreach and networking opportunities to members and the public living and working in Illinois.

Comments are disabled