/ Awards / Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards Finalists Announced

Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards Finalists Announced

Parul Dubey on April 16, 2018 - in Awards, Featured, News

Chicago, IL: The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) is pleased to announce the projects that have been selected as finalists in the 2018 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards. This illustrious design competition takes place each year to recognize excellence in structural engineering.


The projects selected are:


  • K.Y. Restaurant; The Structural Group
  • Paramount Theater Conversion, Forefront Structural Engineers, Inc.
  • CTF Tianjin, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
  • Wolf Point East Tower, The Walsh Group
  • The Yard at Shakespeare Theater, Thornton Tomasetti, Inc.
  • Manulife Place +15 Pedestrian Bridge, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
  • Ryan/Walter Athletic Facility, Northwestern University, WSP
  • Wiikiaami, Pierce Engineers
  • Washington Wabash Elevated Train Station, EXP US Services, Inc.
  • Salesforce Tower, Magnusson Klemencic Associates
  • Kellogg Global Hub, Northwestern University, Thornton Tomasetti, Inc.
  • Chicago’s Shakespeare Theater Movable Towers, Klein and Hoffman, Inc.
  • Short Baseline Neutrino (SBN) Near & Far Detector Buildings, Holabird & Root, LLC
  • New Trier High School Addition, Wight & Company
  • Wilson CTA Station, HNTB Corporation
  • I-55 & Lake Shore Drive Interchange, AECOM
  • 403 N Wabash, James McHugh Construction Co.
  • Anthony Parkway Bridge, Parsons


“We are extremely pleased with the quality of projects submitted this year and believe the changes we made to the Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards, such as the addition of the Best Neighboring State and Best Industrial/Utility categories, contributed to the abundance of entries received this year,” Tony Shkurti, President of SEAOI, commented. “The competition will be incredibly stiff, and we’re looking forward to seeing the finalists present on their projects at the May Dinner Meeting and invite everyone interested in structural engineering to attend this incredible event.”


The finalists selected by the SEAOI Board of Directors will present their projects at the May Dinner Meeting on May 8, 2018, and the winners in each category will be announced at the Annual Awards Banquet on June 9, 2018.


For more information about the Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards, and to register for the May Dinner Meeting to see the finalists present, please visit www.SEAOI.org.

The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) was founded in 1965 by practicing structural engineers to advance and advocate excellence in structural engineering and to aid in safeguarding the lives and property of the public. SEAOI’s Mission is to champion excellence for its members in the practice of Structural Engineering. SEAOI contributes to the expansion of the art and science of structural engineering by offering education, outreach and networking opportunities to members and the public living and working in Illinois.

Comments are disabled