/ News / Virginia’s Jagdmann Appointed as Chair of NARUC’s Electricity Committee

Virginia’s Jagdmann Appointed as Chair of NARUC’s Electricity Committee

Parul Dubey on December 7, 2017 - in News, People

WASHINGTON—Virginia State Corporation Commission Chair Judith Williams Jagdmann is the new chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners Committee on Electricity. The appointment was made by NARUC President John W. Betkoski III.

The Committee on Electricity is charged with developing and advancing policies that promote a reliable, adequate and affordable supply of electricity. Through strong collaboration with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and related federal agencies, it also seeks ways to improve the quality and effectiveness of regulation through education, cooperation and exchange of information.

Jagdmann, who is the current president of the Mid-Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners, served as the co-vice chair of the committee. She also chaired NARUC’s Task Force on Military Workforce Development, established for a one-year period in January 2017 to examine existing and emerging veteran’s workforce issues and opportunities while highlighting best practices and lessons learned in both the utility sector and government.

“Judge Jagdmann is not only an experienced regulator, but as the former vice chair, she possesses the knowledge and understanding needed to ensure that the Committee on Electricity continues to provide a platform that advances policies and information that help serve the public interest,” said Betkoski.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to chair this important committee. NARUC’s value is the sharing of ideas and exploration of issues, from which all state energy regulators benefit. I look forward to leading those discussions on important electricity issues facing our respective states,” said Jagdmann.

Jagdmann is an alumna of the University of Virginia and received her law degree from the T.C. Williams School of Law at the University of Richmond. Her service as an SCC Commissioner began in 2006 and her prior SCC experience includes 13 years as counsel to the Commission and its staff on securities and utility matters. Jagdmann’s public service background includes serving as the 43rd attorney general for the Commonwealth of Virginia from 2005 to 2006. She was also the deputy attorney general for the Civil Litigation Division. She currently serves as the SCC chairman and in 2012 she was re-elected to a second six-year term on the SCC.

Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms. Commissioner John R. Rosales, of the Illinois Commerce Commission, serves as co-vice chair.

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC’s member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

Comments are disabled