/ News / SEAOI Installs New Officers for 2017-2018

SEAOI Installs New Officers for 2017-2018

Parul Dubey on July 18, 2017 - in News, People

Chicago, IL: The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI)  has installed a new Executive Committee and elected three new Directors. All terms began on July 1, 2017 and the 2017-2018 Board of Directors is as follows:

President – Tony Shkurti, HNTB Corporation
President-Elect – David Nickell, TGRWA, LLC
Treasurer – Christine M. Freisinger, Wiss, Janey, Elstner Associates, Inc.
Secretary – Soliman Khudeira, Chicago Department of Transportation and Illinois Institute of Technology

Directors to 2018
Derek Boeldt, Chicago Transit Authority
Lawrence Kirchner, TransSystems
Joseph M. Lowrance, Farnsworth Group, Inc.

Directors to 2019
Jan I. Blok, The Structural Group, Ltd.
Kevin Conroy, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger
Jose A. Medero, Thornton Tomasetti

Newly-elected Directors to 2020
Johann Aakre, HNTB Corporation
Homa Ghaemi, Klein and Hoffman
Jon Sfura, Wiss, Janey, Elstner Associates, Inc.

Past Presidents
Terry R. McDonnell, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger, 2014-2015
David Horos, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP, 2015-2016
Salvatore DiBernardo, Ciorba Group, 2016-2017

The 2017-2018 SEAOI President, Tony Shkurti, is Fellow and Associate Vice President at HNTB Corporation. Dr. Shkurti received his PhD from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, and has an MSCE from Wayne State University and a BS from Polytechnic University of Tirana, Albania. He has been practicing structural engineering for 20 years, and has a long, well-respected history of teaching as a professor at Polytechnic University of Tirana and for SEAOI as an instructor for the bridge portion of the Refresher Course and bridge design courses.

As the new president, Dr. Shkurti has presented an agenda that focuses on four major areas of the SEAOI Strategic Plan:


“We have a very robust agenda this year, but I am confident in our ability to accomplish the goals we’ve set. We are in an exceptional position right now thanks to the excellent leadership of our past board members and our current dynamic, engaged Board of Directors.” said Dr. Shkurti. “We have the best members in the industry, and I’m honored to serve as their President.”


The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) was founded in 1965 by practicing structural engineers to advance and advocate excellence in structural engineering and to aid in safeguarding the lives and property of the public.  SEAOI contributes to the expansion of the art and science of structural engineering by offering education, outreach and networking opportunities to members and the public living and working in Illinois. 

Comments are disabled