/ Awards / GWI Announces Winners of the 2017 Global Water Awards

GWI Announces Winners of the 2017 Global Water Awards

Parul Dubey on April 27, 2017 - in Awards, Water

Global Water Intelligence (GWI) today announced the winners of the 2017 Global Water Awards, which were presented on Monday 24 April at the Palacio de Cibeles, Madrid. The winners were announced in a ceremony presented by Nassim Nicholas Taleb.

Mr Nassim Nicholas Taleb Former Trader, Risk Specialist and Author, delivered an informative speech on the subject of antifragile, stressing the importance of “evolution, adaption and improvement from small mistakes”. Drawing from his experience as a trader, Taleb suggest we should “train mentally to face a big, unforeseen crisis by being exposed to small mistakes and disruptions”. He was also joined on stage by Ron Keating, CEO of Evoqua.

Awards were presented to The Leading Utilities of the World, the latest initiative of the Global Water Leaders Group and is the Gold Standard for utility performance. The Inaugural Meeting took place on 24 April sponsored by CH2M, where 6 utilities presented their achievements and were accepted into the network by an advisory board – all of whom represent utilities that have an unimpeachable record of innovation and performance. Trophies were awarded to Mr. Howard Neukrug, Advisory Board Chair of The Global Water Leaders Group advisory board and the new members accepted into The Leading Utilities of the World Network this afternoon.

The winners of the 2017 Global Water Awards are:

Water Company of the Year
Winner: Acciona Agua
Distinction: Kurita Water Industries 

Desalination Company of the Year
Winner: Doosan Heavy Industries and Construction
Distinction: Utico

Smart Water Company of the Year
Winner: Suez
Distinction: Xylem

Breakthrough Water Technology Company of the Year
Winner: Water Planet
Distinction: Emefcy

Water/Wastewater Project of the Year
Winner: Perth Groundwater Replenishment Scheme, Australia
Distinction: Antarctic Reuse Project

Industrial Water Project of the Year
Winner: Co-op Refinery Complex, Canada
Distinction: ETHYDCO ZLD Plant, Egypt

Municipal Desalination Plant of the Year
Winner: Yanbu 3, Saudi Arabia
Distinction: Az-Zour North 1, Kuwait

Industrial Desalination Plant of the Year
Winner: Escondida SWRO, Chile
Distinction: Sadara SWRO, Saudi Arabia

Water Deal of the Year
Winner: Vista Ridge Pipeline Financing, United States
Distinction: Barka 4 IWP Financing, Oman

Water Leaders Award
Winner: Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Company, Kenya
Distinction: Water Authority of Fiji

Water Technology Idol
Winner: Mattershift 

The Global Water Awards are voted by subscribed readers of GWI magazine, Water Desalination Report and individual members of the International Desalination Association (IDA). In addition, delegates who registered for the Early Bird Discount were also eligible to vote.

Global Water Awards sponsors include: Doosan, Suez, Ch2m, Veolia, Aqualia, Acciona, Cadagua, Almar Water Solutions, GE Water, Amane Advisors. Event sponsor: Evoqua

More information on the Global Water Awards can be found at: http://globalwaterawards.com

Follow developments on Twitter @watermeetsmoney #GWSMadrid and Instagram @gwsmadrid

Global Water Intelligence (GWI) researches and publishes business data and information about the water markets worldwide. Based in Oxford, UK it also has offices in Singapore and USA (Austin, Texas) and has researchers and office staff in many other countries. It publishes three subscription titles and a free weekly GWI Briefing email (http://www.globalwaterintel.com/accounts/mailinglist/) and around four individual reports per year on particular water sectors/geographic regions. It also organises two major financial conferences for the water industry each year: the American Water Summit in Autumn and the Global Water Summit in Spring. GWI was awarded the Queen’s Award for Enterprise in 2011.

Comments are disabled