/ Awards / USDOT Names Small Business Innovation Research Program Awards Recipients

USDOT Names Small Business Innovation Research Program Awards Recipients

Parul Dubey on March 23, 2017 - in Awards, Events

Washington – The U.S. Department of Transportation announced today that fourteen (14) U.S. Small Businesses will receive a total of $1,958,373.00 in Small Business Innovative Research Program (SBIR) awards.  Each year, the SBIR program taps into the power of small businesses to develop cutting-edge solutions to some of U.S. DOT’s most pressing challenges.

SBIR is a congressionally-mandated program encouraging domestic small businesses to engage in Federal Research/Research and Development (R/R&D) that has the potential for commercialization. The Volpe Center, in Cambridge MA, administers SBIR on behalf of the Office of the Secretary of Transportation.

“The SBIR program spurs innovation at the most basic and most important level – in the heart of our communities where innovative solutions are needed most,” said Anne Aylward, Director, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center. “The program provides U.S. small business owners with the funding needed to take ideas from the drawing board into the very communities where they work and live.”

The U.S. DOT SBIR Program awards contracts in two phases and recognizes a follow-on Phase III. Today’s announcement encompasses Phase I contracts, which are designed to establish the technical merit, feasibility, and commercial potential of the proposal. Phase I awards normally do not exceed $150,000 for six months.

Five U.S. DOT Operating Administrations (OAs) participated in the latest solicitation, which is for proof-of-concept of R/R&D efforts in response to topics listed in the solicitation. From coast to coast, small businesses submitted 106 proposals in response to the latest solicitation. Awardees include small businesses from Massachusetts, California, Georgia, Maryland, New York, Kentucky, Michigan, New Hampshire, Virginia and Texas. The complete list of award recipients may be found here.

Comments are disabled