/ Corporate / Atkins’ CEO Uwe Krueger at the World Economic Forum on ASEAN

Atkins’ CEO Uwe Krueger at the World Economic Forum on ASEAN

Matt Ball on June 3, 2016 - in Corporate, Planning

This year the World Economic Forum (WEF) celebrates 25 years of shaping the regional agenda for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). In that time, the region has made great progress and Atkins has been a key partner. Atkins’ CEO, Uwe Krueger, attended the recent summit to discuss how regional players can learn from this and build a sustainable investment climate for the future.

Uwe took part in a panel discussion entitled ‘learning from the best in ASEAN infrastructure’, alongside the Minister of Transport for Malaysia, the CEO for Global Infrastructure Hub and a Vice President from the Asian Development Bank. Uwe emphasised three key points:

  • The need to gain a better understanding of delineation between risk in the private and public sectors;
  • The importance of improving investment certainty; and
  • Recognition of the place technology has in making large scale infrastructure projects more efficient.
Learning from the Best in ASEAN Infrastructure
Despite ASEAN’s huge infrastructure deficit, the region is also notching up notable successes. Uwe Krueger, Atkins CEO, and other senior leaders discuss how regional players learn from these examples and build a sustainable investment climate.

What is the WEF?

The WEF is a non-profit foundation, recognised as the international institution for public-private cooperation. Established in 1971, its mission is to improve the state of the world. The Forum engages the foremost political, business and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas.

What is WEF for ASEAN?

ASEAN is a political and economic organisation aimed primarily at promoting economic growth and regional stability among its members. This year WEF for ASEAN was attended by senior decision-makers and influencers from a range of sectors and heads of state from various ASEAN member countries, including Malaysia, Cambodia, Vietnam and Indonesia.

Comments are disabled