/ Smart Cities / Cities Climate Leadership Group Announces New Guidelines

Cities Climate Leadership Group Announces New Guidelines

Matt Ball on October 4, 2012 - in Smart Cities

Today, the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) announced three newly defined categories of membership for the network.

“Cities are the centers of action around the world. They are continuing to make more progress in combating climate change than any other level of government and as our organization continues to grow in size and stature, the time has come to provide clear definitions around membership requirements, services and benefits to ensure the transparency of our processes,” said C40 Chairman and New York City Michael R. Bloomberg. “Coupled with existing participation standards, these new categories clarify C40 membership classification and set the appropriate expectations for cities that want to join C40.”

The C40, currently with 59 members, will now offer three types of membership categories based on the following criteria:

  • Megacities (formerly Participating City):
    • Population: City population of 3 million or more, and/or metropolitan area population of 10 million or more, either currently or projected for 2025.


    • GDP: One of the top 25 global cities, ranked by current GDP output, at purchasing-power parity (PPP), either currently or projected for 2025.
  • Innovator Cities (formerly Affiliate City) :
    • Cities that do not qualify as Megacities but have shown clear leadership in environmental and climate change work.
    • An Innovator City must be internationally recognized for barrier-breaking climate work, a leader in the field of environmental sustainability, and a regionally recognized “anchor city” for the relevant metropolitan area.
  • Observer Cities:
    • A short-term category for new cities applying to join the C40 for the first time; all cities applying for Megacity or Innovator membership will initially be admitted as Observers until they meet C40’s year-one participation requirements, for up to one year.
    • A longer-term category for cities that meet Megacity or Innovator City guidelines and participation requirements but, for local regulatory or procedural reasons, are unable to approve participation as a Megacity or Innovator City expeditiously.

While the guidelines, services, and benefits for membership categories are newly defined, C40’s mission remains the advancement of collaborative and data-driven action by global megacities to reduce greenhouse gases and climate risks. Megacities make up the core of C40’s membership, with 41 cities currently in this category across developed and developing regions. As such, megacities retain sole access to C40 leadership and governance opportunities, such as serving as C40 Chair, as members of the C40 Steering Committee and the C40 Board.

About C40:
The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. The current chair of the C40 is New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg.

C40 works in an aligned partnership with the Clinton Climate Initiative (CCI) Cities program, which was started by the William J. Clinton Foundation. This brings significant resources and infrastructure to enhance and accelerate historic activities and positions the combined effort as one of the preeminent climate action organizations in the world.

To learn more about the work of C40 and our cities please visit www.c40.org, follow us @C40cities or like us on Facebook.

Matt Ball

About Matt Ball

Matt Ball is founder and editorial director of V1 Media, publisher of Informed Infrastructure, Earth Imaging Journal, Sensors & Systems, Asian Surveying & Mapping and the video news site GeoSpatial Stream.

Comments are disabled