/ Awards / American Concrete Institute Announces Winners of Pervious Concrete Student Competition

American Concrete Institute Announces Winners of Pervious Concrete Student Competition

Matt Ball on November 11, 2015 - in Awards, Corporate, Design/Engineering

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich., Nov. 10, 2015—The American Concrete Institute announces the winners of its 2015 ACI Pervious Concrete Student Competition.  The competition took place at The Concrete Convention and Exposition in Denver, CO, USA. The first, second, and third place in the Cylinder Performance, and Cementitious Efficiency categories each receive cash awards of $750, $500, and $250, respectively.

Teams were challenged to apply sustainability concepts and to use their knowledge of concrete mixture design by producing pervious concrete that balanced permeability and splitting tensile strength. Teams were additionally challenged to develop a mixture design that demonstrated cementitious efficiency; that is, maintaining the overall performance of the mixture with the lowest amount of cementitious material.

Cylinder Performance

1st Place: Ryerson University: Marzia A.C. Fada, Keikhosrow Tahmureszadeh

Faculty Advisor – Dr. Medhat Shehata

2nd Place: FES Aragon Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico: Balderas Rodríguez Miguel Ángel, Badillo Díaz, Daniel Jocsan, Sánchez Ochoa Javier

Faculty Advisor – Jose Paulo Mejorada Mota

3rd Place: Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana – Unidad Azcapotzalco: Leiding Guadalupe García Gutiérrez, Juan Carlos Trejo Juárez, Luis Angel Quirino Flores, Abel Toledo Candia

Faculty Advisor – Dr. Francisco González Díaz

Cementitious Efficiency

1st Place: University of Puerto Rico – Mayagüez: Silvia T. Esteves, Wilfredo X. Guilloty Rivera, Ninoshka Y Crespo Roman, Cristian O. Soto Torres, Maribel A. Turner Ríos

Faculty Advisor – Arsenio Cáceres

2nd Place: University of Puerto Rico – Mayagüez: Andrés Matos Ortiz, Karimar Rodríguez Serrano, Nahima Z. Ortiz Ayala, Gabriel A. Díaz Ríos, Yasser E. Ortiz Rodríguez

Faculty Advisor – Arsenio Cáceres

3rd Place: Valparaiso University: Atolo Tuinukuafe, Trent Schreiber, Benjamin Oelschlaeger, Edward Breitzke

Faculty Advisor – Jacob Henschen

For more information on ACI’s Student Competitions, please visit www.concrete.org.

Comments are disabled